Board of Directors

Helen Coonan Image

The Hon. Helen Coonan


The Hon. Helen Coonan was appointed to the board of HGL on 29 July 2019, assuming the role of non‐executive Chair.  Helen is a former Senator in the Australian Parliament, a Cabinet Minister and Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate.  Her current appointments include inaugural Chair of Australian Financial Complaints Authority (AFCA), Independent Chair of the Minerals Council of Australia (MCA), and non-executive directorships of Crown Resorts Limited and Snowy Hydro Limited. She is the Chair of Place Management NSW and is Co-Chair of GRACosway Pty Limited. She also Chairs boutique fund manager, Supervised Investments Australia Limited and is a member of the Advisory Council of JP Morgan.  Her not-for-profit appointments include Chair of the Crown Foundation and as a non-executive director of the Australian Children’s Television Foundation (ACTF) and Obesity Australia Ltd. She is an ambassador for Menzies School of Health Research, The GUT Foundation and is on the Advisory Council for the National Breast Cancer Foundation.

Ms Coonan has highly developed legal, finance, governance and corporate experience to contribute to leading HGL.

Peter Miller

Peter G Miller

Non Executive Director

Peter Miller was appointed a Non Executive Director in 2000 and was Board Chair from 2002 to 2019. Peter is a member of the Audit and Risk Committee and the Nomination and Remuneration Committee. Peter is a Chartered Accountant with over 30 years experience in public practice.

Julian Constable

Julian D Constable

Non Executive Director

Julian Constable was appointed a Non Executive Director in 2003. Julian is a member of the Audit and Risk Committee and the Nomination and Remuneration Committee. Julian is an authorised representative of Bell Potter Securities Limited with over 35 years experience in the stockbroking industry. Julian is a Director of Pengana International Equities Limited.

Julian Constable

Kevin J Eley

Non Executive Director

Kevin Eley was a Director and Chief Executive from 1985 to 28 October 2010 when he became a Non Executive Director. Kevin Eley is the Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee. Kevin is a Director of Milton Corporation, Equity Trustees and Pengana Capital Limited.

Julian Constable

Cheryl Hayman

Non Executive Director

Cheryl Hayman was appointed a Non Executive Director on 1 December 2016. Cheryl brings international experience including significant strategic and marketing expertise derived from a 20 year corporate career which spanned local and global consumer retail organisations. Cheryl is a Director of ASX listed Clover Corporation Ltd and Chartered Accountants Australia/New Zealand. Cheryl Hayman is the Chair of the Remuneration and Nomination Committee.